Sometimes, it’s not what you know

We’ve all heard that old saying that it’s not always what you know it’s who you know. I thought about that saying when I tried to make appointment with a research librarian. I used the on-lline appointment form that Ken told us about last week.

I put in three dates and times when it would be best for the librarian and I to meet. I provided a brief but detailed description of my topic assignment and sent the request off. I knew what I had to do when my three appointment dates passed without receiving feedback.

Research librarian Julie Elliott taught a class that I took in the fall. It made sense to reach out to Julie because she is familiar with my topic. I sent her an e-mail and she quickly replied. A couple of e-mail exchanges later and I have an an appointment set up for 11 a.m. Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

